New release uploaded to Cydia/Rock repo

15 02 2010

The new release (1.2.0.0) has been uploaded to Cydia/Rock repo. As usual there is a 24 hour window between the release and the Rock/Cydia visibility.

As some of you (Screamjet and Ankoku) have hinted the following changes have been made:

  • Added a splash screen with the text LOADING
  • Favorites are no longer removed when clearing the offline data/cache
  • Able to see chapter titles of mangas with long names
  • Fixed bugs so that you can download mangas in the background
  • Shows an Activity Indicator (progress circle) when loading new pages
  • When downloading: shows number of downloaded pages in favorites

If you have already downloaded the deb manually then there is no need to install this version.

Actions

Information

40 responses

16 02 2010
Ankoku

You are doing such a great job on this app keep up the amazing work.
:)

16 02 2010
Ankoku

New version just went live in cydia for anyone wondering when the update is.

17 02 2010
mastershake

how do u manually delete the manga cache i installed this new version and i think it left the manga from my old version on my hard disk

17 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

In a terminal
rm -i /var/mobile/Documents/*.sqlite

or if you have have a filemanager:
/var/mobile/Documents/

appname.sqlite is the old file and should be removed.

3 03 2010
Mugywara

So, I have remove kiwicomics.sqlite and then when I relaunch my app all Manga are now update (I have update with the new version)

So I wait for the newest manga update :)

17 02 2010
Itaintrite

Best. Manga. Reader (For iPhone). Ever.

Works better than all the Appstore apps combined, and none of the restrictions (Viz…).

A nicer GUI would be welcome but it’s already perfect as is. Great job from an avid manga reader.

17 02 2010
Itaintrite

Oh, a better Icon would work too :D

17 02 2010
H

It won’t let me download. :( I get this error messsage:
The requested modifications cannot be applied due to required dependencies or conflicts that cannot be automatically found or fixed.
Modifications: install Kiwicomics
Depends: Iphone Firmware >=3.0.0

I’ve tried uninstalling the firmware but it still didn’t download. I’ve been able to download other apps on Cydia but I want yours the most. :( Ive searched google and there doesn’t seem to be an answer. Any ideas?

17 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

Which version of iPhone do you have? How did you jailbrake it?

17 02 2010
H

It is jailbroken, 3.0 Ipod Touch. RedSn0w jailbroken? I’ve got Cydia apps before.. This is the first time I’ve had any problems. :(

17 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

It might be that redsn0w does not provide the iphone-firmware package. This package is just empty and is used to make it easier for the package handler to force the 3.0.0 version or above.

You could download the deb manualy, put it into your iPod and then write in the iPhone Terminal (or via ssh):
sudo dpkg –install –force-all KiwiComics.deb

Or you could try blackrain.

I’ll see if I can remove the dependency for the next version.

18 02 2010
H

But Cydia has the Iphone firmware 3.0 and I have it. Does that make a difference? Sorry, maybe I am confused. Thanks for the help.

17 02 2010
zet

hi will there be a chinese version for the comics?

17 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

No. OneManga does not support any other scanlations than english to my knowledge.

18 02 2010
Befly

I keep running into a problem where with certian mangas they crash the app or just wont load the chapters, the two that I have this problem with the most are Berserk and Gnatz. I’ve tried reinstalling and complete removal and then install, but have had no luck. Any idea on how to fix this or if anyone else has this problem.

18 02 2010
mastershake

the app crashes sometimes when u r at the last page of the chapter and you touch the screen to go to the 1st page of the next chapter and i don know but the app seamed faster without the progress circle cause sometimes it takes a while for the page to load

19 02 2010
Ophois

Same here for naruto comic though

21 02 2010
Billyboi

The update is not even showing up on Cydia for me. It still says that the latest release was1.1.1.0

24 02 2010
Yodajedi01

I’m not sure if it’s just me or ….
When I like clear the offline cache? The system Just hang, I’m not sure if it’s really clearing? So I press the home button and relaunch the app the download cache are still there.

O yes, the app often hang and return to menu page for FMA chap 17 think page 30 and early pages for chap 18

28 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

The clearing takes alot of time as it is traversing the whole database. Try waiting for 10 minutes after pressing the clear offline cache button, the button will then have a white background again. First then should you restart the app.

26 02 2010
speed

Hi Digital Kiwi,

Performance seems to have taken a minor hit UI-wise. Ive also found the whole chapter download has slowed.

Anyone else noticed?

Cheers

28 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

I have not noticed that but it makes sense. What seems to take time is showing the UI elements and database access.

27 02 2010
Befly

Im still unable to read berserk & gnatz

28 02 2010
Digital Kiwi

Those are licensed. You will never be able to read them on KiwiComics as long as KiwiComics takes its images from OneManga.

2 03 2010
Mugywara

Hello and thanks.

I have just one problem when I update my Favorites Manga for new chapter, the date disappears for all Manga who were update.
Then I can read the new chapter but if I relaunch the app I must re-update my manga because nothing is saved and this for all my favorite manga :(

Do you have a Solution ?

(Sorry for my English :) )

Thanks

Thanks

Iphone 3G 3.1.2

2 03 2010
Digital Kiwi

If I have understood you correctly then you have a list of favorites. When you click on the update button you get the new release dates. If you relaunch the app then you will once again have the old release dates?

2 03 2010
Mugywara

Yes.

I can update but when I relaunch the app, I always have those same chapter that when I have Installed the App for the first Time (no update)

It’s the same if I reinstall the App

2 03 2010
Digital Kiwi

And does this doesn’t happen if you update the chapter and then view/read the first page of the updated chapter?

3 03 2010
Mugywara

I can downloaded a new chapter but it’s disappear when I relaunch :(
Nobody has the same problem ?

9 05 2010
Dutt

I have that problem. Didn’t always though. It started after golden week and now whenever I update my list of favourite mangas the date under the manga title disappears. When I relaunch the app the pre-golden week dates are under the manga titles

4 03 2010
isio

Hi I can’t seem to download any manga, the wheel at the top right will spin but it will stop and the manga was not downloaded. This app worked for my 2 updates ago but now it deleted all my stuff. HELP!!!

4 03 2010
isio

Wheel at top left, next to the carrier(my bad)

4 03 2010
Digital Kiwi

Is it the list of mangas or is it when you view the manga images?

If it is the manga list:
Try browsing with iPhones Safari browser and then start KiwiComics, tap only once on the search button and then do nothing but wait for 2 minutes.

6 03 2010
Mugywara

To solve my problem I must delete every week:

/ var / mobile / Documents / appname.sqlite

But this is not practical

If you know the reason? In any case thank you for this application

19 03 2010
kungmin43

Just jailbroke my iphone (firmware 3.1.2) using BlackRa1n, installed cydia and rock, downloaded Kiwicomics via Rock but the app does not open, or rather, Kiwicomics crashes during its launch. I’ve tried to reinstall the app but hasn’t changed the situation. Anything I’m doing wrong? Thanks for this awesome app.

15 04 2010
Numner

Will this ever be in the AppStore? I accidently update and lost my favorite app ;-;

15 04 2010
Digital Kiwi

No, it will never be on AppStore.

13 05 2010
Harvo

Ive been loving this app for a long time. But the lastest update. As others. Some manga seem to crash on me. I try to download +anima chapter 9. I click download and it crashes. And sometimes reading some chapters crashes. Mostly last page.

I am using Itouch with lastest firmware, broken and all that. Other then that, great work. I enjoy it alot =D.

15 09 2010
Donnie

Hi I need help when I search the mangas when I pic the manga it will go no further it will highlight light I picked it but does nothing else

19 10 2010
Noah

Help when i select manga it just highlights and nothing else happens

Leave a Reply

